Posted by: Jillian | January 4, 2012

Birchbox Love

I am a realist – not everything is going to be a money maker or a freebie when it comes to make up.  Sometimes, you have to pay to be (more) beautiful.  I balance my splurges with my frugality & even save money when I splurge.

One of my favorite sites to get name brand cosmetics are discounted prices is Birchbox – a $10 monthly subscription of 4-5 deluxe sample sizes of name brand products.  You can then review the products for points, which you can redeem for $10 off full-size products.  My first month I got a full-size Laura Geller bronzer ($34) & my second month I got a travel-size Philosophy Purity Made Simple ($10), so it’s been worth it to me.  Recently, however, not-so-much.

In December, they didn’t ship out the boxes on time, and a lot of people were complaining – so, they tried to make up for it by giving everybody $10 off any full-size product.  When I finally got my box, I also had a $20 off $70 coupon inside.

This was my birthday present to myself 🙂

Paid $54

L-R Benefit Ooh La La Brightening Boost ($22), Anastasia Tweezecream ($20), Smashbox Foundation ($42).

Total was $84 – $20 off $70 Q – $10 off from the promotion.  Shipping was free for purchases over $50 (another $6 savings) & I got 54 points towards my next $10 off reward (for every 100 points).

Hopefully this month’s box will be better since a TON of people were complaining on the company’s facebook page – if not, I’m going to cut my losses & use what points I have saved up and dip.  I’ll keep you updated 🙂

 

Leave a Reply

Categories

