Posted by: Jillian | November 9, 2012

Buying “Experiences” instead of things

So I’ve started to take a different approach to gift-giving this season, especially with Zach. We’ve been together for about 5 years and you can only buy a person so many items.  This year, instead of buying him a big present, I decided to take him to a big event.  We went to the Ravens v. Cowboys game on Oct 14th! Woohoo! This was definitely a gift that had perks for myself, too.  I love the Ravens, so I was willing to oblige 😉
Another big milestone coming up is my 5 year aKDPhi anniversary.  Our Mommy wanted us to “think outside the box,” so we did.  I can’t go into too much detail, but we’re definitely using some of Richmond’s free destination sites and amenities to make this day pretty barf-worthy awesome! 🙂  I will post pictures later.
As for gift-giving experiences, I think Groupon or living social are great ways to go.  I was looking at vacation sites, etc, and you can get a 2-night stay on a water-front property about 3 hours away for $190.  It’s cold, yes, but I love walking down the beach with sweats and a jacket with my feet in the sand. That might make me weird, but I’m okay with that.  They also had a historic room rental in Shenandoah for $89.  I mean, how else would you find out about these hole-in-the-wall places? I love it.
I’ve also picked up a lot of groupons for restaurants around Richmond. One recently was for Weezies’s restaurant in Cary Town. I mentioned before giving experiences; giving your time and talking or catching up with someone is more important than a tube of lip gloss.   During this time of year it should be more about you stopping for a second and catching up before the world gets crazy again.  This is by far easier said than done, I know, but I’m trying to make a conscience effort!

Leave a Reply

Categories

